Sunday 3 June 2007

My committees

Council. Meets five times per year. Most decisions are made by cabinet, but the Council appoints cabinet.

Minute Secretary of Liberal Democrat Group. The group consists of just the Lib Dem councillors. It meets in advance of every cabinet meeting, so that all the Lib Dems can discuss the issues on the cabinet agenda.

Planning Applications Committee. Meets every three weeks to decide the fate of planning applications. Most applications are actually decided upon by officers. However, the committee will decide those which are controversial for some reason.

Devolution Committee. Meets as required. Handles devolution of property and powers to town or parish councils. For example, we're considering giving management of The Crypt in Seaford to Seaford Town Council.

Standards Committee. Meets as required. Handles matters relating to the code of conduct.

Travellers Working Group. A group tasked with finding an official site or sites for travellers to stay.

Recycling Group

Joint and Outside bodies

Court of the University of Sussex. Meets annually, to recieve the accounts. Appoints six members to Council, and appoints the Chancellor.

Housing Consultative Panel - a panel of council housing tenants, staff and councillors.

Landport Bottom Management Committee. Landport Bottom is the hill on which the Nevill Estate is built. It's also the site of the Battle of Lewes (1264). The committee manages land on Landport Bottom that is jointly owned by the District and Town councils.

Local Transport Plan Panel. A County Council panel.

No comments: